Fourth of July Cookies

Here are this year’s Fourth of July cookies.  I’m really happy with how they turned out!  Looking at these, then looking back at last year’s cookies I can see how far I have come and how much I have learned.

IMG_3385

I have definitely learned how to better stage and photograph my cookies.  Even if the cookies come out looking horrendous, I can stage them with pretty backgrounds and crop them in ways they will look great.  (Not these….they turned out pretty great!)  I have also learned a lot of different techniques that have improved my piping, the way I decorate and the way I can get the icing to perform.  

IMG_3382IMG_3378

I wouldn’t have learned any of this without the wonderful cookie artists that I share this wonderful cookie community with, and a little trial and error.  I’m finding myself dreaming up different designs and techniques all of the time.  Heck, I will see a design on a hand towel while I’m out shopping and think, “I need to cookie that!”  Does that make me crazy……NO!!!!  It makes me in love with what I’m doing!  

IMG_3390IMG_3386

I want to do more and challenge myself more!  I want to see just how big of an impact I can make just from one cookie!  It’s crazy to watch the statistics on the post of a cookie.  Take for instance this checkered cookie above.  I posted this cookie on Facebook and within 1 day it had over 1700 views, 60 likes and 25 shares (that I know of).  The funny thing about this cookie is that it was a total ‘flop’ cookie.  I had originally iced the cookie white and was going to pipe an intricate firework design on it.  It was my last cookie of the night and I had just finished about 4 dozen before it.  I started to pipe on the design and it just looked awful.  I wiped it off and was left with a red / blue / brown smeared mess.  I almost ate it, but though, “Hey, I can cover this up!  But it has to cover the whole thing to work.”  So I just started piping on alternating dots row by row.  It wasn’t even until about the 4th row that I realized it was making a diagonal pattern.  All of this was by mistake.  But what I guess I’m trying to get across is that now I have this really cool cookie and I taught myself a new technique.  I’m totally going to use that again to make different patterns and designs.  

IMG_3372

So now that you have seen all of my pretty 4th of July cookies from this year.  Look at the cookies I made from last year and tell me if you can at least see some difference.

Fourth of July

Thank you for listening to my late night ramblings.  I hope you all have a wonderful, safe and happy 4th of July!  Make sure you leave me a comment,  contact me through my website or facebook if you have any questions or suggestions!

http://www.Sinful-Decadence.com

http://www.facebook.com/SweetSinfulDecadence

Leave a Reply

